Tuesday, July 5, 2022
- Advertisement -

How To Easily Delete Your Bing Search History

This article explains how to delete your Bing history easily

Bing Search History – Bing is a search engine used by millions of people worldwide to find information online. Developed by Microsoft, Bing is a trusted search platform that runs on most devices. In addition, it stores and uses your search history to personalize your results. This article explains how to delete your Bing history easily.

People delete their Bing history to delete information stored by their browser. Unfortunately, this stored information could slow down your Internet connection or threaten your Internet privacy over time. And clearing the history in your web browser doesn’t touch the history stored on Bing itself, which likely comes from multiple devices you use. You can clear that history, though.

Before getting too far into it, you should know that most major search engines and social sites store results like this; it’s not just a Bing thing. For example, Google stores your results, and so does Facebook. They do this if you’re logged into the service and by using the IP address of the device you’re searching from, along with cookies stored on your devices. And it’s not necessarily a bad thing. It’s how search results get better tailored to your needs.

If you’re not comfortable with that search history being out there, you can clear it. Whether you clear the whole thing or just individual entries you don’t want to be saved. Here’s how.

Don’t miss: How To Easily Delete Amazon Order History

How To Clear Your Bing Search History

Your history for all the things you search for using Bing is stored on your Microsoft account, so head over to your Microsoft account’s privacy settings, and sign in.

After signing in, you’ll see your account’s Privacy dashboard. Scroll down to the “Search History” section, and then click the “View And Clear Search History” button.

This opens the “Activity History” tab of your dashboard and focuses on your past searches. If what you want to do is clear your entire search history, you can click the “Clear Activity” link at the top right of your search list.

You’ll be asked to confirm your action. For example, if you want to delete your entire search history, click the “Clear” button.

If you don’t want to delete everything, you can also scroll down to view your search history. Under each search entry, you’ll notice two links. Click “Delete” to get rid of just that search result. And that’s pretty much all there is to it. But, if you’re using Bing and coming to clear your history every once in a while, you might want to consider using private browsing so that searches aren’t stored in the first place.

Also read: How To Open RAR And ZIP Files On A PC, Mac Or Mobile Device

Along with search history results, Microsoft stores many other data from things you do while you’re signed in to your accounts, like Apps and Services you’ve used, Cortana voice searches, and Edge browsing history. All these things can be deleted from your privacy dashboard in the same manner as your search history.

On the Activity History tab of your dashboard, you’ll see a list of the data associated with your Microsoft account in the “Explore Your Data” section on the left. Click any of the options here to explore them.

Deleting the entries for each type is the same as deleting the search history. When you locate a data entry you no longer want, click the “Delete” link under it.

If you want to eliminate every entry on whatever list you’re viewing, click the “Clear Activity” link at the top right.

As a security feature, you can’t delete every entry if browsing the “All Data Types” option (which includes everything). So if you’re looking to purge everything from your account, you’ll have to click “Clear Activity” from each section individually.

Don’t miss: How to Delete your Hulu Account and History

More Ways To Protect Your Privacy

Protecting your privacy online is crucial to ensuring your security is maintained and that you can enjoy an open, unrestricted Internet experience. When you browse the Internet without an extra layer of protection, such as a VPN, you risk your private information being shared with third-party sites or hackers on your network. Your IP address, location, and search history are at risk. You should always be aware of the following:

  • Your ISP can see your activity, location, sites visited, whom you communicate with, and more.
  • ISPs or other providers often share or sell this data to third parties, including advertisers.
  • It’s essential to read and understand the privacy policy of the various web-based tools or sites you visit.

To protect your privacy while browsing online, you can also do the following:

  • Use a VPN: A VPN encrypts your Internet connection, offering exceptional privacy and security every time you connect. With a VPN, no one (not your ISP or snoops) can see the sites you visit, your location, or any other personal data.
  • Use HTTPS: HTTPS indicates that your connection is secured, meaning it is safer than using HTTP. Always use this prefix when you browse.
  • Be aware of the risks: Understand that a lot of personal information may be exposed to your provider and websites when browsing. Being aware of this can help you decide what you do online and what privacy measures you take.

How has this article helped you? Hit the comments, and let us hear!

Editor’s picks:

Diekola Yusuf
Diekola Yusufhttps://www.novabach.com
Founder & CEO of Novabach - Yusuf is a Tech enthusiast. Fascinated by Computers and all sorts of Technology. He writes news, updates, walkthroughs, guides, troubleshooting tips, and how-to tutorials on gadgets and consumer electronics.
- Advertisement -

Latest Posts

- Advertisement -

Editor's Picks

Related news