Tuesday, July 5, 2022
- Advertisement -

Is iPhone Virus Warning Real? The Fix!

In this guide, I’ll explain what to do when you receive malicious iPhone virus warning

You receive a pop-up alarm that says something along the lines of, “Virus detected on iPhone. You will lose all your data if you don’t take immediate action!” Don’t fall for this scam alert! In this guide, I’ll explain what to do when you receive such pesky scammers alert.

Almost always, iPhone users only see fake virus warning messages and this always occurs when they’re using the web browser to visit a malicious website.

Is alert like “Virus detected on iPhone. You will lose all your data if you don’t take immediate action!” legit?

Plain and simple, the answer is NO. Scammers create pop-ups like these all the time. Their main goal is to get your iCloud account or credit card information by scaring you into thinking something is seriously wrong with your iPhone.

What Should I Do If I Receive A “Virus Detected On iPhone” Pop-up?

The “virus detected on iPhone” happens to appear while you’re browsing via Safari app. Firstly, you should think of closing the current app you’re using while you receive this pop-up – do not accept this, tap OK or interact with the alart at all.

Force Close Safari

  • If you are using an iPhone X or later: Go to your Home screen and swipe up from the bottom of the screen. This will open the app switcher. Find Safari (you can swipe left or right) then swipe up on Safari to close it.
  • If you are using an iPhone 8 or earlier: Double press the Home button to open the app switcher. Swipe up on Safari to close it.

For iPhone with home button, to close out of the app, double-press the circular Home button, which activates the app switcher. You’ll see a menu that displays all of the apps currently open on your iPhone.

Once you’re in the app switcher, swipe up on the app you want to close out of. You’ll know the app is closed when it no longer appears in the app switcher.

Clear Safari Browser History

The next step to take is clearing the history and website data of the Safari app, which will erase any cookies that could’ve been saved when the pop-up appeared on your iPhone. To clear Safari history and website data.

Open the Settings app > Tap Safari > Clear History and Website Data.

When the confirmation alert appears on your iPhone’s display, tap Clear History and Data.

How To Prevent

It will help protect you in case your information did get stolen.
It will help protect other iPhone users from having to deal with the same pop-up. There are simple tips you can implement to stop it from happening again.

  • Go to Settings Safari and then turn on Block Pop-ups.
  • Go to Settings Safari and now turn on Fraudulent Website Warning.
  • Keep your phone updated. You can easily check for updates by going to Settings > General > Software Update. And if there is an update available, follow the onscreen instructions to download and install the update.

Editor’s picks:

Diekola Yusuf
Diekola Yusufhttps://www.novabach.com
Founder & CEO of Novabach - Yusuf is a Tech enthusiast. Fascinated by Computers and all sorts of Technology. He writes news, updates, walkthroughs, guides, troubleshooting tips, and how-to tutorials on gadgets and consumer electronics.
- Advertisement -

Latest Posts

- Advertisement -

Editor's Picks

Related news