This article discusses how to know if someone blocked your number on their iPhone.
You’ve been trying to connect with a friend or family member, but they haven’t returned your calls or messages. However, blocking someone from contacting you is the last step you can take, and being blocked feels terrible. It’s a difficult thing to reconcile.
Knowing your blocked phone number is a good way to know where you stand with someone if nothing else is involved. Unfortunately, it’s not always clear if you’ve been blocked from someone’s contact list. You’re trying to get hold of friends or family members, and they’re just not responding. Blocking someone can also be accidental; it’s possible the other party isn’t mad at you at all and has inadvertently blocked you. This guide shows you how to know if someone blocked your number on their iPhone.
Method 1: iMessage Not Delivered
You’ve been wondering how to find out if your number has been blocked on someone else iPhone. However, iMessage delivery notifications are one of the best ways to notice if you’ve been blocked. All delivered iMessages have a “delivered” badge at the end of the conversation thread. If the other person has read receipts turned on, it will change to “read” when the iMessage service confirms they’ve read it. So, a “delivered” badge is not how to know if someone blocked your number.
If the previous iMessage says Delivered but the most recent one doesn’t, it can mean that you’ve been blocked. As you can see in the photo below, the two iMessages I sent my sister during our blocking experiment were never tagged with delivery notification.
Method 2: Use SMS
After noticing iMessage isn’t delivering, SMS is a good way to know if someone blocked your number. You’re looking for another indicator to double-check you’ve been blocked. However, when iMessages don’t go through, your device will re-send the message using your cellular plan.
If your SMS messages also don’t receive a reply or a delivery confirmation, it’s another sign that you’ve been blocked.
Method 3: Automated responses via Do Not Disturb Mode
This should not be new to iDevice users. The iMessage versus SMS messaging is the best indicator for you to notice you’ve been blocked on someone else device. Like unanswered calls, automated responses are a sort of ‘soft’ block some use to keep people away without formally blocking them.
For iPhone users that use Do Not Disturb mode, this is an option to auto-reply to contacts. It lets you define your own away message and the group that receives it. As you can see, blocked numbers are disallowed, so an automatic response to your messages isn’t a true ‘block.’ If you receive an automated response, it could be because you’re a favorite!
Method 4: Going Straight to Voicemail
You’re trying to call a friend or family, and your calls keep going straight to voice mail. If your text wasn’t answered, and there’s no delivery verification either, there is still the possibility that your phone is out of service for whatever reason. Unless there’s an emergency, I will wait to call your friend or family member. If your text still isn’t answered after a few hours and you decide to call, here’s how you can be pretty sure you’ve been blocked:
To know for sure you’ve been blocked, try calling again and notice if your call ring but very briefly before connecting to voicemail. However, if you could leave a message as you could on any unblocked calls, this will appear in a separate section of the voicemail on your iPhone. You’ve been blocked. You can try practicing this on a friend’s phone by blocking yourself and try calling and see what happens.
- How to Enter Field Test Mode On iPhone
- Fix iMessage Needs to Be Enabled To Send This Message
- How To Fix Facebook Message Sent But Not Delivered