Here Is How To Delete Or Deactivate Your Facebook Account

In this guide, we explain how delete or deactivate your Facebook account.

If you’ve finally given up on the world’s most popular social media network, it’s not too late to remove yourself from the service. In this guide, we explain how delete or deactivate your Facebook account.

Facebook walk a fine line between being handy and consuming your whole life. Whether your screen time notification says you’ve spent a tremendous amount of time on your phone today, or you just don’t feel the need to share every inch of your life on a news feed anymore — it might be time to finally pull the plug on your online life and delete your account temporarily or forever.

Although deleting your Facebook account sounds simple enough, it’s actually hard. Social media platforms make money off you, so they do not want you to stop your incessant scrolling and sharing.

But don’t worry, we’ve created an easy, step-by-step guide on how to delete your Facebook profile so you can get out from under them or just give yourself a break before you dive back in.

Note: Before you temporarily or permanently delete your profile on Facebook, we strongly recommend you take your chance to download your archive. This will be included in this guide, for those who store or share classified file on their social media profile.

Don’t miss: How To Install Google Play Store On An Amazon Fire Tablet

How To Download Your Archive Using The Web

Before permanently deleting your account, it may be worth downloading your Facebook data; this includes photos and posts you’ve uploaded in the past. To save your data, follow these easy steps:

  • Click on the ‘down’ arrow in the upper right corner.
  • Go to “Settings & Privacy” > “Settings.”
  • In the left-hand column, click on “Your Facebook Information.”
  • In the center, find and click on “Download Your Information.”
    • You can select which info you want to download, or you can just download all of it. At the top of the page, there are drop-down lists that let you create a date range (if you want to), download your data in either HTML or JSON, and choose between high, medium, or low media quality.
  • When you’re ready, click on “Create File.” You’ll get notified via email when your file is ready. You can choose which Facebook data you want to download.
  • After you’ve finished downloading your archive, you can now delete or deactivate your account.

Also read: Explaining Disney Plus Bundle And How To Get It

How To Deactivate Your Facebook Account.

There are two ways to remove your Facebook account. The first is ‘deactivating’ your profile; this means you can reactivate your account at any time. But until then, people will not be able to view your Facebook timeline, or search for you. Although some information may stay visible, like the direct messages you’ve previously sent. 

The other way to remove your Facebook account is by deleting it forever. If you choose this, Facebook will delay the deletion for a few days after the request is made. If you log in during this period, the process of deletion is canceled automatically and your account will be restored (it really doesn’t want you to leave).

To temporarily deactivate your Facebook account, all you have to do is log onto your profile on desktop then follow these steps:

  • Click the account menu down arrow at the top right of any Facebook page in your web browser.
  • Select ‘Settings’.
  • Choose ‘General’ in the left column.
  • Click “Manage your account”.
  • Press “Deactivate your account” and then confirm your decision.

However, you can reactivate or restore your account by logging in to Facebook and the entirety of your profile will be reinstated. 

How To Delete Your Facebook Account Permanently

As much as we don’t want to admit, deleting your Facebook account is a serious decision and can impact how you stay in touch with distant relatives and find social opportunities with friends. 

It’s literally as simple as following this link and selecting “Delete Account” — BUT WAIT!

Before permanently deleting your account, kindly follow the highlighted steps above to download your archive. The steps bellow will show you how to permanently delete you account.

  • Click in the top right of Facebook.
  • Select Settings & Privacy, then click Settings.
  • Click Your Facebook Information in the left column.
  • Click Deactivation and Deletion.
  • Choose Permanently Delete Account, then click Continue to Account Deletion.

You’ll get another chance here to download your archive or choose deactivation rather than deletion. Once you click “Delete My Account,” your account will be marked for termination and inaccessible to others using Facebook.

Once your account has been permanently deleted, there’s no way to reactivate your account. Also, it can take up to 90 days for your data that’s stored in its backup system to be deleted, but this information isn’t accessible on Facebook during this time. 

Editor’s recommendation:

Fadekemi Victoria
Fadekemi is a development strategist, certified creative content writer and public speaker. She is a change maker who write and speaks to inspire, motivate as well as encourage people.

Latest Posts

Editor's Picks

Most Popular

Related news