How to Cancel an Uber Ride After Being Matched With a Driver
This article explains how to cancel an Uber ride after being matched with a driver. Click the link to read the full guide.
Author:Daniel BarrettSep 14, 2022
Uber is well known to everyone who wants a quick ride out of town or within the city; however, if you’re looking for how to cancel your already booked ride before or after you were matched with a driver.
No problem! Canceling an Uber ride is quick and easy. To avoid a cancellation fee, you’re required to be quick because if you don’t find a way to cancel within five minutes of a driver accepting your request, you’ll be hit with a fee. (In some cities, you only have two minutes to cancel.)
Cancellation fees can occur whether the rider or the driver cancels the ride. If the driver cancels the ride, the fee is usually charged because the driver had to wait longer than five minutes at the pickup location for the rider to show up.
However, Uber doesn’t list an actual standard amount or range for the cancellation fee on its website. The cancellation fee varies. Uber’s website states that the app will show you the cost before confirming your cancellation.
Daniel Barrett is a tech writer focusing on IoT, gadgets, software, and cryptocurrencies. With a keen interest in emerging technologies, Daniel offers expert analysis and commentary on industry trends. Follow him for authoritative insights into the latest tech innovations.