Instagram is the home of flashy, fancy, alluring, and enticing. All in the name of pictures and videos. The pictures and videos seem endless, like a flowing stream of beauty. These contents are usually tempting to screenshot or screen-record for later references. In this walkthrough, you will figure out if Instagram notifies you of a screenshot taken by someone else.
Usually, the poster won’t know that you’ve taken a screenshot of an image, message, or anything else that they’ve shared. There is one exception in which users will get a screenshot notification, though, which we explain below.
When does Instagram notify that a screenshot has been taken?
It is only in the scenario of a disappearing photo or video sent in private DM. The only time Instagram would send you a notification of a screenshot is when you screenshot a disappearing content. For other things like stories, posts, reels, and even permanent DMs, no notifications would be sent.
Note: Though Instagram used to notify screenshots on stories, it no longer does. Instagram’s screenshot notification policy could return, so it’s a good idea to double-check.
When someone screenshots a disappearing photo or video you sent, a small hatched circle will appear beside it.
Screenshots will also be notified in the conversation summary on your main messages page, where you’ll see the note “Screenshot.”
What to know about screenshotting Instagram DMs
Firstly, a disappearing photo or video is one that you capture using the camera within the Instagram message window.
The message “disappears” because the other user can only view it once, or twice if you enable replay. Instagram will notify you if someone screenshots a disappearing DM.
When you send someone a photo or video from your phone’s camera roll, on the other hand, this is not a disappearing message, and thus you will not be notified if someone screenshots it.
How to avoid being detected for an Instagram screenshot
There are workarounds you could use to save disappearing content without notifying the sender. Read on to find out more
Switch your phone to airplane mode:
Anytime you screenshot the disappearing content while your phone is in airplane mode, the sender will not be notified of the screenshot. If the photo fails to load while your phone is in airplane mode, try opening the photo, holding your finger down on it, and quickly turning on airplane mode while the photo is still open. Then, with the photo already loaded and your phone now in airplane mode, you can take a quick screenshot.
Launch Instagram in a web browser:
Logging in on Instagram through a web browser allows you to screenshot disappearing content secretly. Instagram does not notify screenshots taken in a web browser.
Use another camera or device entirely:
Of course, you can also take a picture of your screen using another device, though this may not yield the best quality. Taking pictures of another screen usually appears blurry.
Note: While these methods will avoid the screenshot notification, you should never use or share someone’s image, sensitive content, or personal information without their consent.
In addition, if you’re worried about people taking screenshots of your Instagram content, you may want to consider switching to a private profile. Your former followers and any follow requests you approve could still take screenshots, but non-followers won’t be able to see anything except your profile picture and name, preventing them from accessing and thus screenshotting any of your posts, and stories or bio information.
Beware of Third-Party Apps That Claim to Notify You of Instagram Screenshots
There have been reports of third-party apps that claim to be able to send screenshot notifications. These apps are a total sham. Instagram enables firm limitations on what third-party apps do via the Instagram API for privacy and security reasons. This means that no app you install can successfully notify you of who’s taking screenshots of your content. Do not install such apps as they could be malicious and even compromise your account.
If you already installed a third-party app that claimed to give you Instagram screenshot notifications and provided your account details to it:
- Uninstall the app immediately from your iOS or Android device.
- Next, change your Instagram password just to be safe.
- If you have an Android, you may also want to consider installing an antivirus app.
- How to Charge Nintendo Switch Controllers
- 20 Best Multiplayer Games On Nintendo Switch
- How To Use Bluetooth Headphones With Your Nintendo Switch