Home Software & Apps How To Easily Delete Your Spotify Account

How To Easily Delete Your Spotify Account

In this tutorial, we will explain how you can delete your Spotify account in a couple of clicks.

0

Stopped using Spotify and switched to another deal? If you don’t want to keep your account inactive, you can eternally close your Spotify account. In this tutorial, we will explain how you can delete your Spotify account in a couple of clicks.

Note: You can only delete your Spotify account from a web browser on your smartphone or from your computer. The feature is not available on mobile or desktop apps. If you have a Premium subscription, you’ll have to cancel it first, and then you can delete your account.

Keep in mind that once you delete your Spotify account, you’ll lose all your playlists and your followers. If you have a student discount, you won’t be able to use it for another year.

Because of the way that Spotify works, you won’t be able to claim the same username again either, but you can create a new account with the same email address. If you don’t want to delete your Spotify account, you can simply cancel your Spotify Premium membership as well.

Once you’ve gone over all the details and are sure that you want to permanently delete your Spotify account, open the Spotify website in your browser of choice and log in to your account.

Deleting A Free Account

Surf to the Spotify website and click on the Log in link. Enter your account credentials. Scroll to the bottom of the page and click on the About link.

At the About Us page, click on the Contact Us link in the Customer Service section. At the Contact Spotify page, click on the Account category.

When on the next page, click on the topic for “I want to close my Spotify account permanently.” Now, on the next page to Permanently Close Account, click Close Account.

There would be the “We’re sad you want to leave us” page next, click on the Close Account button.

Spotify confirms the account you wish to close. Click on the Continue button.

Spotify tries one last time to keep your account alive, informing you that you’ll lose your username, playlists, and other features. If you’re still determined, click on the checkbox for “I understand, and still want to close my account” and then click Continue.

As your final step, you have to click on a button to “Close My Account” in a verification message sent to your email address. After you do that, you’ve finally broken up with Spotify.

Don’t miss: How To Delete Your Reddit Account Permanently

Canceling A Spotify Paid Subscription

Okay, now let’s go over the process for cancelling a priced Spotify subscription. Log into to Spotify. Click on your name in the upper-right corner and click on the link for Account.

At the Account page, click on the link for Subscription.

At the Subscription and Payment Info page, click on the link to cancel your subscription.

At the “Can we help?” page, Spotify asks why you want to cancel your subscription. Click on the appropriate response and then click Continue. Spotify displays another page in response to the reason you selected. Scroll to the bottom of the page and click on the link to Cancel My Subscription.

At the next page, enter your password and click on the link to Cancel My Subscription.

Your paid subscription is finally cancelled, and your account automatically reverts to the free version of Spotify. Of course, Spotify reminds you that you can always renew your paid subscription should you change your mind.

Also read: How To Transfer Your Music From iTunes To Android

Bottom Line

If you change your mind, you have 7 days to reactivate your account. You’ll find the link to do this in your inbox.

Before closing your account, make sure you’re aware of the repercussions. You can also cancel your subscription without deleting your account altogether, and only use the free version of Spotify.

If you do close your account, you won’t be able to use your current username with Spotify again; you can, however, create a new account with the same email address. Additionally, you won’t have access to your playlists and followers anymore and you’ll lose all the music you’ve saved to your library.

(Image Source: PCMag)

Editor’s picks:

Exit mobile version